Executive Branch

Joseph Nyumah Boakai
President of Liberia (Jan 2024 – Present)
Credit: Dubawa

The Executive Branch of the government has the executive powers of the republic and enforces the laws of the nation. It is headed by the President, who is Head of the Government, Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces and Head of State (Constitution of Liberia, 1986). The second in command is the Vice President (VP). The President and VP must be at least 35 years of age, own real property in Liberia and they both cannot come from the same county.

Before taking their respective offices, the President and Vice President are sworn in by the Chief Justice or by an Associate Justice. They take the oath to preserve, protect and defend the Constitution and laws of the nation and fully perform the duties of their offices. In an emergency, if a Supreme Court Justice is unavailable, a judge from a lesser court will administer the oath of office.

The presidential term of office is limited to 2 six-year terms. General elections are held on the second Tuesday of October of each election year for the President, Vice President, Senators and Representatives. The election of the President and Vice President is based on an absolute majority of the votes. Other officials must receive a simple majority of the votes to be elected.

The President and Vice President can be removed from office if involved in treason, bribery or other acts that violate the Constitution. If the President dies, resigns, is impeached or cannot serve his/her duties for other reasons, he/she is succeeded by the VP. In case both the President and VP cannot serve their posts, the Speaker of the House of Representatives is sworn in as Acting President until elections are held to fill those posts. If the Speaker cannot assume the position of Acting President, it is given to the Senate Pro Tempore and follows that line of precedence as established by law.

The Executive Branch also includes numerous cabinet ministries, autonomous agencies, and public corporations. These agencies aid in policy-making, policy implementation, central governance, and provide various public services.

The President appoints Supreme Court Justices, cabinet ministers, ambassadors, superintendents, consuls, and other officials who serve at the pleasure of the President. Some appointments have to be approved by a majority of the Senate. Other duties of the President include conducting the foreign affairs of the nation pertaining to treaties, conventions, and other international accords with the agreement of a majority of the House and Senate. The full functions of the Executive Branch are detailed in Chapter VI of the Liberian Constitution.

President Joseph Nyumah Boakai

President Boakai at his inauguration
Photo Credit: Quality News TV

Presidential Term: January 2024 – Present
County of Origin: Lofa County
Political Party: Unity Party (UP)

Joseph Boakai is Liberia’s current president. He began his first term in January 2024, succeeding George Weah who was President of Liberia for the preceding 6 years. He is Liberia’s 25th president, and the 23nd person to serve as president of Liberia.

Boakai was vice president of Liberia from 2006 – 2017 under President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf. He has held numerous government positions over the past 40 years. His current term will end in 2030.

Vice President Jeremiah Koung

Vice President Jeremiah Koung
Photo Credit: Office of the VP, Liberia

Term: January 2024 – Present
County of Origin: Nimba County
Political Party: Movement for Democracy and Reconstruction (MDR)

Jeremiah Koung is Vice President of Liberia. He is a former senator from Nimba County, and was elected along with Boakai in the 2023 general elections.

The Executive Mansion

The Executive Mansion, under renovations in June 2018
Photo Credit: LiberiaInfo

The Executive Mansion is the official home and office of the President. It contains living quarters, offices and reception areas. Most presidents in recent history have resided at private residences instead of the Mansion. The Mansion is located on Capitol Hill, adjacent the Foreign Ministry and opposite the Temple of Justice. It overlooks the Atlantic Ocean on the south. The mansion was built in 1964 during the Tubman administration.


Cabinet Guide for Ministries, Agencies and Commissions. Cabinet Secretariat. Ministry of State for Presidential Affairs. The Executive Mansion. Republic of Liberia. Apr. 2015. Web.

Constitution of Liberia. Republic of Liberia. Liberia Legal Information Institute. Web.

Guannu, Joseph Saye. A Short History of the First Liberian Republic. 1st ed. Pompano Beach, FL: Exposition Press of Florida, 1985. Print.

George Weah: From footballer to Liberia’s president. BBC News. 22 Jan. 2018. Web.

Massaquoi, Hans J. Liberia End of the Tubman Era. Ebony. Oct. 1971.

Uncle Shad Forever?. Time, vol. 83, no. 3, 17 Jan. 1964, p. 35.

The Executive Mansion. Republic of Liberia. Web.

Visits: 1622

Last Modified: February 26, 2024